Art is not what you see, but what you make others see

Mariel Clayton

wpid-can-i-claim-that-as-a-deduction-small-2011-03-11-10-28.jpg

Mariel Clayton is a self-taught photographer. In an action figures shop in Tokyo she had the vision of the world where all those dolls’ stories happen, and she wanted to visit it and take photos. Her main character is the most famous doll of all times: Barbie, that after throwing away (literally, very often) her fashion victim clothes, become executioner and gives vent to her bound violence on Ken. And, admit it, you’d do it too!

She says: “ (I’m) A Doll Photographer with a subversive sense of humour. I believe that life is an hysterically messed up place, and if we don’t laugh at it, we’ll never understand it. I didn’t have a hard childhood, I was never abused, I’m not an ‘evil, dark or psychologically scarred’ person. I just think what I do is damn freaking funny – and I like to share the humour with people.
wpid-modern-maternity-small-2011-03-11-10-28.jpgwpid-pms-small-2011-03-11-10-28.jpgwpid-f-is-for-facinorous-small-2011-03-11-10-28.jpg

Leave a Reply

